PEI TKD 2014 Provincials Pre-registration

Registration for our Provincial Taekwondo tournament on December 13th is now open. You must register by December 9th.

You can register online at:

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Provincials Schedule

The doors open tomorrow at 9:30 at PEI Taekwondo (40 Enman). At 11:30 we may do some exhibition matches and board breaks.

Here are the divisions for tomorrow.


Yellow: Alexandrea M., Zowie J., Meleah P.
Yellow Stripe: Quinton J., Eric L., Sam D., Aiden A.
Yellow Stripe: Daniel W., Andrew R., Benjamin S.
Yellow Stripe: Cohl G., TJ M., Carson G., Isaac M.
Yellow: Christopher J., Jacob R.
White: Thomas D., Logan B., Jackson W.
Yellow Stripe: Aisnley G., Erin P.
Yellow: Wilson P., Nathan W., Owen D.


Blue Stripe: Michael P., David M, Jonathan W.
Blue: Logan H., Mitchell R., Ronan L.
Blue/Green Stripe: Brodie L., Robert W.
Green: Sydney M., Lily C.
Green Stripe: Aiden S., Kaleb M.
Green: Jordan B., Brendan M., Christian I.


Black Belt: Tammy T., Hannah I.
Black: Ian H., Mike O.
Yellow: Gary M, Joshua C.
Black: Chase S., Cole S., Reddin H., Joel G., Luc G.
Red: Kristina Z., Ashlyn C.
Blue: Emma M., Claudia M., Callie B.
Red: Aiden H., Isaac M., Xavier M.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Provincials Postponed

Given the recent bad weather, the Provincials scheduled to be held this Saturday will be postponed. This will allow students enough time to prepare and for the Association to fully promote the event.

The Board is proposing to do this on April 19th. We understand that this is during the Easter weekend but we had to choose it to minimize any conflict with other upcoming tournaments and seminars. While we have very few options on the date, we would appreciate any feedback on it.

If anyone would like to help out please let us know.

Thank you for your understanding.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Sport PEI Awards Finalists

Big congratulations to Ms. Li who has made it to the final three nominees for official of the year from Sport PEI. This is a great honour but not surprising given her hard work in this area.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Sport PEI announces finalists for annual awards banquet

Sport PEI announces finalists for annual awards banquet

Sport PEI has announced the full list of finalists who will be recognized at the annual amateur sports awards banquet, to be held Wednesday April 9 in Charlottetown.

Celebrating the Island’s sporting achievements over the past year, contenders for the prestigious Senior Male Athlete Award will once again include champion sprinter Jared Connaughton, world champion paranordic biathlete Mark Arendz, and captain of Team Canada and national medal winner from softball, Jeff Ellsworth.

Heather Moyse will of course be in contention for the senior female honour for her exploits in both bobsleigh and rugby, but other athletes too enjoyed fine seasons, including world silver medal rower Emily Cameron, and wrestler Veronica Keefe, who had an outstanding year on the mat both nationally and internationally.

In addition to the listed finalists, presentations will also be made to the Sports Organization of the Year (Premier’s Award), long-time service to sport (President’s Award), and the top overall Island athlete (Lieutenant Governor’s Award). The board of Sport PEI will also determine if the prestigious Bill Halpenny Award for Outstanding International performance will also be presented.

Ticket details will be announced nearer the event. Emcees for the banquet will be CBC radio Island Morning host Matt Rainnie, and Joanne Holden.

For more information contact Nick Murray at 368-4547 or go to

The full list of finalists is:

Bell Aliant Senior Male Athlete of the Year: Mark Arendz (Paranordic Biathlon), Jared Connaughton (Athletics), Jeff Ellsworth (Softball)

Bell Aliant Senior Female Athlete of the Year: Emily Cameron (Rowing), Veronica Keefe (Wrestling), Heather Moyse (Bobsleigh and Rugby)

Rodd Hotels and Resorts Junior Male Athlete of the Year: Carsen Campbell (Biathlon), JP Stevenson (Baseball), Jeremy and Joel Watts (Wheelchair Basketball)

Rodd Hotels and Resorts Junior Female Athlete of the Year: Quincy Beck (Squash), Lorena Ellis (Wrestling), Hannah Taylor (Wrestling)

Intercollegiate Male Athlete of the Year: Andrew Costa (UNB, Volleyball), Cole MacMillan (UPEI, Soccer and Hockey), James Profit (Dalhousie, Swimming)

Intercollegiate Female Athlete of the Year: Jean Baker (SMU, Rugby), Emily VanDiepen (Mount Allison, Soccer and Hockey), Molly Wedge (Dalhousie, Swimming)

SCORE! Team of the Year: Holland College Men’s Basketball, Summerside Western Capitals (Hockey), Holland College Women’s Soccer

Masters Athlete Award: Michael Gaudet (Long Distance Running), Ruth Stavert (Stick Curling), Paul Wright (Cross Country Skiing)

PEI Mutual Insurance Company Official of the Year: Mike Jones (Rugby), Mandy Li (Taekwondo), Cliff Poirier (Curling)

PEI Mutual Insurance Company Coach of the Year: Colin MacDonald (Wrestling, Canada Games), Forbes MacPherson (Hockey, UPEI), Scott Morrison (Basketball, Lakehead University)

ADL Administrator of the Year: Derek MacEwen (Curling), Stephen Murray (Rowing), Gordon Rogers (Speed Skating)


Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Free NCCP course!

It’s free if any of our members/parents/instructors are interested.



Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Provincials a Great Success

Congratulations to all of our athletes, officials, coaches and all of our other volunteers on a great event today. The pre-registration of all competitors, allowed the Provincials to run smoothly with all three groups of divisions starting on time.

This is the biggest fundraiser for our Association with all the funds going back to our members. As such, it is doubly rewarding to provide such a positive experience for our members while raising money to bring GM Lee here to teach them.

Once again, thank you to all of the competitors and their parents, our coaches and officials and the rest of our volunteers.


Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

A few changes in the schedule

Please re-check the schedule for the Provincials. There has been some additions and time changes. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Just a reminder

We are asking all spectators and athletes to enter through the main doors of the Royalty Center. You may enter the Dojang through the hallway. Admission is $5.00

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

10:00 Group A

Division 1 – Gideon G, Jordan B, Kaleb M
Division 2 – Kaislyn D, Emma M
Division 3 – Mitchel W, Jonathan W, David C, Jayden J
Division 4 – Parker M, Joel Go
Division 5 – Hayden C, Vaughan L
Division 6 – Kristina Z, Callie B, Claudia M, Ashlyn C
Division 7 – Xavier M, Mitchell R, Isaac M, Matthew C
Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment