Sport PEI announces finalists for annual awards banquet

Sport PEI announces finalists for annual awards banquet

Sport PEI has announced the full list of finalists who will be recognized at the annual amateur sports awards banquet, to be held Wednesday April 9 in Charlottetown.

Celebrating the Island’s sporting achievements over the past year, contenders for the prestigious Senior Male Athlete Award will once again include champion sprinter Jared Connaughton, world champion paranordic biathlete Mark Arendz, and captain of Team Canada and national medal winner from softball, Jeff Ellsworth.

Heather Moyse will of course be in contention for the senior female honour for her exploits in both bobsleigh and rugby, but other athletes too enjoyed fine seasons, including world silver medal rower Emily Cameron, and wrestler Veronica Keefe, who had an outstanding year on the mat both nationally and internationally.

In addition to the listed finalists, presentations will also be made to the Sports Organization of the Year (Premier’s Award), long-time service to sport (President’s Award), and the top overall Island athlete (Lieutenant Governor’s Award). The board of Sport PEI will also determine if the prestigious Bill Halpenny Award for Outstanding International performance will also be presented.

Ticket details will be announced nearer the event. Emcees for the banquet will be CBC radio Island Morning host Matt Rainnie, and Joanne Holden.

For more information contact Nick Murray at 368-4547 or go to

The full list of finalists is:

Bell Aliant Senior Male Athlete of the Year: Mark Arendz (Paranordic Biathlon), Jared Connaughton (Athletics), Jeff Ellsworth (Softball)

Bell Aliant Senior Female Athlete of the Year: Emily Cameron (Rowing), Veronica Keefe (Wrestling), Heather Moyse (Bobsleigh and Rugby)

Rodd Hotels and Resorts Junior Male Athlete of the Year: Carsen Campbell (Biathlon), JP Stevenson (Baseball), Jeremy and Joel Watts (Wheelchair Basketball)

Rodd Hotels and Resorts Junior Female Athlete of the Year: Quincy Beck (Squash), Lorena Ellis (Wrestling), Hannah Taylor (Wrestling)

Intercollegiate Male Athlete of the Year: Andrew Costa (UNB, Volleyball), Cole MacMillan (UPEI, Soccer and Hockey), James Profit (Dalhousie, Swimming)

Intercollegiate Female Athlete of the Year: Jean Baker (SMU, Rugby), Emily VanDiepen (Mount Allison, Soccer and Hockey), Molly Wedge (Dalhousie, Swimming)

SCORE! Team of the Year: Holland College Men’s Basketball, Summerside Western Capitals (Hockey), Holland College Women’s Soccer

Masters Athlete Award: Michael Gaudet (Long Distance Running), Ruth Stavert (Stick Curling), Paul Wright (Cross Country Skiing)

PEI Mutual Insurance Company Official of the Year: Mike Jones (Rugby), Mandy Li (Taekwondo), Cliff Poirier (Curling)

PEI Mutual Insurance Company Coach of the Year: Colin MacDonald (Wrestling, Canada Games), Forbes MacPherson (Hockey, UPEI), Scott Morrison (Basketball, Lakehead University)

ADL Administrator of the Year: Derek MacEwen (Curling), Stephen Murray (Rowing), Gordon Rogers (Speed Skating)


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s